Le microbiote au quotidien

Where do we find the human microbiota?

A microbiota is found in different parts of the body: skin, digestive tract, respiratory system, urogenital system, etc.

What is the difference between intestinal microbiota and intestinal flora?

“Intestinal flora” is the old term commonly used to define the intestinal microbiota. The two terms mean the same thing.

What is an ecosystem?

An ecosystem is a dynamic collection of living organisms (plants, animals and microorganisms) that interact with each other and the environment (soil, climate, water, light, etc.) in which they live.

What are the functions of the intestinal microbiota?

The intestinal microbiota has many functions: it plays a role in the host’s metabolism (participating in food assimilation), a barrier role (shielding against pathogens), a defense role (stimulating the immune system) and a maintenance role (maintaining the intestinal mucosa, for example). It is at the heart of interactions with various organs, and, among other things, is involved in the transmission of information along a gut-brain axis, which is where the name “second brain” comes from.

How is the intestinal microbiota formed?

The intestinal microbiota is formed at birth, probably even before, through placental exchanges between the mother and the fetus. The external environment and its microorganisms as well as the diet (breast milk, food) also participate in its development.

What is the intestinal microbiota made of?

Various microorganisms, including some species of bacteria, compose the intestinal microbiota. There are dominant species, rarer species and transient species circulating throughout the digestive tract. The colon is populated by nearly 10 000 billion bacteria, that is to say as many as the number of cells in the human body.

How do you analyze the intestinal microbiota?

Currently, the microbiota is analyzed primarily by the use of identification techniques based mainly on gene (DNA) study of the microorganisms (metagenomics) that populate the intestine.

Do you have the same intestinal microbiota for your entire life?

The intestinal microbiota will evolve over your lifetime and be influenced by various environmental factors. It is formed over a period of years, from birth to age three. Then it continues to diversify to become stabilized in adulthood. Finally, as the years go by, the intestinal flora decreases in the elderly. Some events can also change the microbiota, such as taking medications (antibiotics, for example), infections, a change of environment, illness, stress, etc.

Is the intestinal microbiota the same for everyone?

Each individual has a unique microbiota. We call it a “signature”. Only a small fraction of species are widely shared in the human population: around 60 bacterial species are carried by 50% of individuals in the same geographic area.

What is the human microbiota?

The microbiota is the name given to the collection of microorganisms (primarily bacteria, viruses, fungi, etc.) that colonize specific places in the body. These microorganisms live in harmony with the body and interact in order for it to function smoothly.

Information

The information provided on this site does not replace medical advice. If you have any questions, consult a health care professional.

Le microbiote au quotidien

Où trouve-t-on le microbiote humain ?

On trouve un microbiote dans différentes parties du corps : peau, tube digestif, appareil respiratoire, appareil uro-génital…

Quelle est la différence entre le microbiote intestinal et la flore intestinale ?

La « flore intestinale » est le terme ancien et couramment utilisé pour définir le microbiote intestinal. Les deux termes ont la même signification.

Qu’est-ce qu’un écosystème ?

Un écosystème désigne un ensemble dynamique d'organismes vivants (plantes, animaux et micro-organismes) qui interagissent entre eux et avec le milieu (sol, climat, eau, lumière….) dans lequel ils vivent.

Quelles sont les fonctions du microbiote intestinal ?

Le microbiote intestinal présente de nombreuses fonctions : il exerce un rôle dans le métabolisme de l’hôte (participation à l’assimilation des aliments), un rôle de barrière (bouclier contre les pathogènes), un rôle de défense (stimulation du système immunitaire) et enfin un rôle de maintenance (entretien de la muqueuse intestinale par exemple). Il est au cœur d’interactions avec différents organes, et serait, entre autres, impliqué dans la transmission d’informations selon un axe intestin-cerveau, d’où l’appellation de « deuxième cerveau ».

Comment se forme le microbiote intestinal ?

Le microbiote intestinal se constitue dès la naissance, probablement même avant, au travers des échanges placentaires entre la mère et le fœtus. L’environnement extérieur et ses micro-organismes ainsi que l’alimentation (allaitement, aliments) participent largement à son élaboration.

De quoi est composé le microbiote intestinal ?

De nombreux micro-organismes dont des centaines d’espèces de bactéries composent le microbiote intestinal. Il existe des espèces dominantes, des espèces plus rares et des espèces transitoires circulant le long du tube digestif. Le côlon serait peuplé de près de 10 000 milliards de bactéries, soit autant que le nombre de cellules du corps humain.

Comment peut-on analyser le microbiote intestinal ?

Actuellement, l’analyse du microbiote se fait principalement par l’utilisation de techniques d’identification basées principalement sur l’étude des gènes (ADN) des micro-organismes (métagénomique) qui peuplent l’intestin.

A-t-on le même microbiote intestinal durant toute la vie ?

Le microbiote intestinal va évoluer au cours de la vie et être influencé par divers facteurs environnementaux. Il se constitue dès la naissance jusqu’à l’âge de 3 ans. Puis, il continue de se diversifier pour se stabiliser à l’âge adulte. Enfin, au fil des années la flore intestinale s’appauvrit chez les seniors. Certains évènements peuvent également modifier le microbiote tels que la prise de médicaments (antibiotiques par exemple), les infections, un changement d’environnement, les maladies, le stress….

Est-ce que le microbiote intestinal est identique pour tous ?

Chaque individu a un microbiote qui lui est propre. On parle de « signature ». Seule une petite fraction d’espèces est partagée dans la population humaine : environ 60 espèces bactériennes sont portées par 50 % des individus d’une même zone géographique.

Le microbiote humain : c’est quoi ?

Le microbiote est le nom donné à l'ensemble des micro-organismes (principalement bactéries, virus, champignons…) qui colonisent des endroits spécifiques de l'organisme. Ces micro-organismes vivent en harmonie dans l'organisme et interagissent pour son bon fonctionnement.





Informations

Les informations délivrées dans ce site ne se substituent en aucun cas à un avis médical. En cas de questions, consultez un professionnel de santé.

Ce site utilise des cookies pour vous offrir le meilleur service. En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies.