Gastrointestinal microbiota

Your gastrointestinal microbiota consists of all of the microorganisms that populate your intestines.
The equilibrium between bacteria, yeasts, fungi, and other microorganisms is fundamental to your health.

The equilibrial composition of gastrointestinal microbiota

Intestinal_Infographie_composition_EN

Knowledge about intestinal microbiota, or gut flora, has improved through the use of new identification techniques based on studying the genes (DNA) of the microorganisms that populate the intestines. It is now estimated that hundreds of species of bacteria make up the intestinal microbiota. They are divided between dominant species, more rare species, and transitory species that circulate throughout the digestive tract. The colon, also called the large intestine, can have up to ten thousand billion bacteria, or as many as the number of cells in your body. That means your colon is one of the most densely populated ecosystems in the world! Certain potentially dangerous bacteria can be present in small numbers without any illness arising. Bacteriophages—viruses that only infect bacteria—are also found in the intestine. There are ten to a hundred times more of them than the most represented bacteria. Yeasts, fungi, and even parasites also cohabit in this densely-packed area.

Composition regulated by diet

The dominant microbiota is a “signature” for each individual. Only a tiny fraction of the species are widely shared in the human population: around 60 bacterial species are carried by 50% of individuals in the same geographic area. Although it is still being debated, it is suggested that there are three different types of bacterial composition (enterotypes). These groups define your “intestinal ecology” and are related, at least in part, to your dietary habits: one of them is linked to a Western diet rich in sugar and animal fats and another is associated with a significant consumption of fruit and vegetables. As microbiota can be deliberately regulated, it is imperative that it be done intelligently to preserve symbiosis, i.e. a harmonious relationship between your bacteria and your intestine: your health depends on the diversity of your microbiota!
 

EVOLUTION OF THE INTESTINAL MICROBIOTA IN ACCORDANCE WITH AGE

Baby

From 0 to 3 years, children’s microbiota diversifies.

Adult

Until adult age, intestinal microbiota diversifies, then stabilizes.

Senior

As we age, microbiota becomes slightly impoverished.

The microorganisms in your intestines, primarily bacteria, form a “partnership” with them that starts right at birth. It takes around three years for gastrointestinal microbiota to build up, before a period of relative stability until old age when it undergoes profound changes again.

The digestive system of a newborn is quickly colonized by “simple” microbiota, originating from their mother’s vaginal and fecal bacteria. Breastfeeding provides favorable bacteria, such as bifidobacteria, but intestinal microbiota takes around three years to stabilize. This stabilization depends on numerous factors. For example, anaerobic bacteria, which don’t need oxygen to survive, are in the minority in infants but are dominant in adults. The development of these anaerobic bacteria is slower when birth is by caesarian section or premature and microbiota is less diverse than in infants born vaginally at full-term. The diversity of microbiota also depends on the early childhood environment: less diversity has been observed in Westernized countries, which may be linked to overactive hygiene. Gastrointestinal microbiota is enhanced over the years, but it always retains the imprint of the early childhood profile. Less microbial diversity can lead to potentially long-term illness.

A loss of diversity in the elderly

In adulthood, few factors can radically change the dominant microbiota aside from hormonal variations during puberty, pregnancy, and menopause. But it is in old-age that variations become more pronounced. Microbiota is impoverished by physiological changes, such as a reduction in immunity, a less varied diet, taking numerous medications including antibiotics, and especially lifestyle, when people become less independent. In fact, elderly people living in retirement homes have more impoverished microbiota than those living at home and continuing with their usual diet. This profound change in the equilibrium of the microbiota can lead to illness, such as intestinal inflammation and increased sensitivity to infection.
 

Functions of the microbiota

The microbiota can be considered to be a functional organ in the human body. It works closely with your intestines and plays different important roles. 

Healthy microbiota creates a strong partnership with your intestines: symbiosis. It controls functions both on a local and a systemic scale, meaning your entire body.

Vignette

Role in intestinal metabolism

Intestinal microbiota executes metabolic functions that are essential to digestion. A small fraction of food is not digested when it leaves the small intestine and is fermented by microbiota in the colon. These fermentation processes produce gas and numerous metabolites, including short-chain fatty acids, a real “fuel” for the cells in your colon.

Defensive role

  • Barrier effect:
    Your intestine is confronted with a significant challenge: tolerating microbiota bacteria, which are beneficial, while, at the same time, effectively preventing dangerous bacteria, called pathogens, from colonizing. Microbiota acts as a barrier against pathogens. The “good” bacteria of the microbiota fight directly against pathogens by competing for the same nutrients. Furthermore, some bacteria release antimicrobial molecules against the pathogenic bacteria while others stimulate the production of mucus to protect intestinal cells from attacks and avoid harmful effects on your body.
  • Stimulation of the immune system:Bacteria of the intestinal flora are involved in the maturation and activation of cells in the intestinal immune system, which protects you from attacks by pathogenic agents like bacteria and viruses. The intestine is the primary reservoir for immune cells in your body. For its part, the immune system influences the composition and diversity of microbiota. 

Dysbiosis can disrupt this defensive role and lead to the development of disease.

Role of intestinal mucosa

Intestinal microbiota plays an important role in the maturation of the digestive tract, and in particular on the size and thickness of the intestinal mucosa, the production of mucus, the irrigation of intestinal cells, and the enzymatic activity of the mucosa.

Emerging functions

Recent studies have identified other roles for the microbiota. Some bacteria of the intestinal flora may protect against inflammatory and metabolic diseases while others may actually induce these diseases or even behavioral and neurological problems. Much more work is necessary to identify the mechanisms.

Diseases

Disruption of the intestinal microbiota can cause disruptions affecting various areas of the human body.

Affecting the microbiota

There are five ways to affect the equilibrium of microbiota. Each of them has its own specific features.

News

Learn more

Fecal transplant

Fecal transplant involves introducing a healthy person’s stool into a patient’s digestive tract in o...

Parkinson's disease

Parkinson’s disease is the second most common neurodegenerative disease in France. It progressively ...

Synbiotics

Synbiotics are products that contain both prebiotics and probiotics and whose purpose is to restore ...

Did you know?

Test your knowledge on microbiotas


Voir




This site uses cookies to offer you the best service. By continuing your browsing, you agree to the use of cookies.

Grand
Public
Accès
Pro

Le microbiote intestinal

L’ensemble des micro-organismes qui peuplent votre intestin constitue le microbiote intestinal.
L’équilibre entre bactéries, levures, champignons et autres micro-organismes y est fondamental pour votre santé.

La composition à l'équilibre du microbiote intestinal

Microbiote intestinal - Composition à l'équilibre

 

Les connaissances sur le microbiote intestinal, ou flore intestinale, ont bien évolué grâce à l’utilisation de nouvelles techniques d’identification basées sur l’étude des gènes (ADN) des micro-organismes qui peuplent l’intestin. Aujourd’hui, on estime que des centaines d’espèces de bactéries composent le microbiote intestinal, partagé entre des espèces dominantes, des espèces plus rares et des espèces transitoires circulant le long du tube digestif. Le côlon, à savoir le gros intestin, porterait jusqu’à dix mille milliards de bactéries, soit autant que le nombre de cellules de votre corps. Le côlon fait donc partie des écosystèmes microbiens les plus densément peuplés de la planète ! Certaines bactéries potentiellement dangereuses peuvent y être présentes en faible quantité sans qu’aucune pathologie ne se déclenche. On trouve aussi dans l’intestin des bactériophages, qui sont des virus n’infectant que les bactéries. Ils sont dix à cent fois plus nombreux que les bactéries les plus

Une composition modulée par l’alimentation

Le microbiote dominant est une « signature » pour chaque individu. Seule une petite fraction d’espèces est très partagée dans la population humaine : environ 60 espèces bactériennes sont portées par 50% des individus d’une même zone géographique. Bien que cela soit discuté et pas forcément aussi tranché, il existerait 3 types de composition bactérienne (entérotypes) différents. Ces groupes conditionnent votre « écologie intestinale » et sont liés, au moins en partie, à vos habitudes alimentaires : régime occidental riche en sucres et graisses animales pour l’un d’entre eux ou forte consommation de fruits et de légumes pour un autre. Si le microbiote peut ainsi être volontairement modulé, il est primordial de le faire à bon escient pour préserver la symbiose, soit une relation harmonieuse, entre vos bactéries et votre intestin : de la diversité de votre microbiote dépend votre santé !

Sources
-Sender R, Fuchs S, Milo R. Revised estimates for the number of human and bacteria cells in the body. PLoS Biol, 2016; 14(8): e1002533.
-Ley RE, Peterson DA, Gordon JI. Ecological and evolutionary forces shaping microbial diversity in the human intestine. Cell 2006 ; 124 : 837-48.
-Tap J, Mondot S, Levenez F, et al. Towards the human intestinal microbiota phylogenetic core. Environ Microbiol 2009 ; 11 : 2574-84.
-Qin J, Li R, Raes J, et al. A human gut microbial gene catalogue established by metagenomic sequencing. Nature 2010 ; 464 : 59-65.
-Pallav K, Dowd S, Villafuerte J et al. Prospective randomized controlled study on the effects of Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 and amoxicillin-clavulanate or the combination on the gut microbiota of healthy volunteers. Gut Microbes 2016 ; Dec14 : 1-16.
-Wu GD, Chen J, Hoffman C, et al. Linking long-term dietary patterns with gut microbial enterotypes. Science 2011 ; 334 : 105e8
.

L'évolution du microbiote intestinal en fonction de l'âge

Bébé

De 0 à 3 ans, le microbiote des enfants se diversifie.

Adulte

Jusqu’à l’âge adulte, le microbiote intestinal se diversifie puis se stabilise.

Senior

En prenant de l’âge, le microbiote s’appauvrit légèrement.

Les micro-organismes de votre intestin, principalement des bactéries, établissent avec celui-ci un « partenariat » qui débute dès votre naissance. La constitution du microbiote intestinal prend environ trois ans, avant une période de relative stabilité jusqu’au grand âge, où il subit de nouveau de profondes modifications.

Le système digestif du nouveau-né est rapidement colonisé par un microbiote « simple » provenant des bactéries vaginales et fécales de sa mère. L’allaitement apportera des bactéries favorables, telle que les bifidobactéries, mais la stabilisation du microbiote intestinal prendra environ trois ans et dépendra de nombreux facteurs. Ainsi, les bactéries anaérobies, qui n’ont pas besoin d’oxygène pour vivre, sont minoritaires chez le nourrisson mais seront dominantes chez l’adulte. Le développement de ces bactéries anaérobies est plus lent dans le cas d’un accouchement par césarienne ou d’une naissance prématurée, avec une diversité microbienne plus faible que chez les enfants nés à terme par voie basse. La diversité du microbiote dépend aussi de l’environnement pendant la petite enfance : une moins grande diversité a été observée dans les pays occidentalisés, ce qui peut être lié à une hygiène trop poussée. Le microbiote intestinal s’enrichit au cours des années mais il gardera toujours une empreinte de son profil précoce de la petite enfance. Or une moindre diversité microbienne peut conduire à la survenue de maladies à plus ou moins long terme.

Une perte de diversité chez la personne âgée

A l’âge adulte, peu de facteurs peuvent radicalement modifier le microbiote dominant, mis à part les variations hormonales lors de la puberté, d’une grossesse et de la ménopause. C’est au grand âge que les variations sont plus marquées. Le microbiote est alors appauvri par les changements physiologiques, comme une diminution de l’immunité, une alimentation moins variée, la prise de nombreux médicaments y compris des antibiotiques et surtout le mode de vie, parfois moins indépendant. Les personnes âgées résidant en maison de retraite ont ainsi un appauvrissement de leur microbiote plus marqué que celles qui restent à domicile et gardent leur régime alimentaire habituel. Cette modification profonde de l’équilibre du microbiote peut alors conduire à des pathologies, comme des inflammations de l’intestin et une plus grande sensibilité aux infections.

Sources
-Yatsunenko T, Rey FE, Manary MJ, et al. Human gut microbiome viewed across age and geography. Nature 2012 ; 486 : 222-7.
-Guaraldi F, Salvatori G. Effect of breast and formula feeding on gut microbiota shaping in newborns. Front Cell Infect Microbiol 2012 ; 2 : 94.
-Campeotto F, Waligora-DuprietAJ, Doucet-Populaire F, et al. Establishment of the intestinal microflora in neonates. Gastroenterol Clin Biol 2007 ; 31 : 533-42.
-Biasucci G, Rubini M, RiboniS et al. Mode of delivery affects the bacterial community in the newborn gut. Early Hum Dev 2010 ; 86 (Suppl 1) : 13-5.
-Okada H, Kuhn C et al. The “hygiene hypothesis” for autoimmune and allergic diseases: an update. Clin Exp Immunol 2010 ; 160 : 1-9.
-Koren O, Goodrich JK, Cullender TC, et al. Host remodeling of the gut microbiome and metabolic changes during pregnancy. Cell 2012 ; 150 : 470-80
-Biagi E, Candela M, Turroni S, et al. Ageing and gut microbes : perspectives for health maintenance and longevity. Pharmacol Res 2013 ; 69 : 11-20.
-Claesson MJ, Jeffery IB, Conde S, et al. Gut microbiota composition correlates with diet and health in the elderly. Nature 2012 ; 488 : 178-84.

Les fonctions du microbiote

Le microbiote peut être considéré comme un organe fonctionnel du corps humain. Il est en étroite interaction avec votre intestin et joue différents rôles majeurs.

Un microbiote sain met en place un véritable partenariat, une symbiose, avec votre intestin et assure des fonctions aussi bien locales que systémiques, c’est -à-dire à l’échelle de tout votre corps.

Le rôle du microbiote intestinal

Sources
-Landman C , Quévrain E. Le microbiote intestinal : description, rôle et implication physiopathologique. REV Med Interne, 2016 ; 37:428-423.
-Marcfarlane GT, Cummings JH. The colonic flora, fermentation and large bowel digestive function. Raven Press, 1991; 51-92.
-Duncan HE, Edberg SC. Host-microbe interaction in the gastro intestinal tract. Crit Rev Microbiol 1995; 21: 85-100.
-Hooper LV, Gordon JI. Commensal host-bacterial relationships in the gut. Science 2001; 292: 115-8.
-Kandori H et al. Histochemical, lectin-histochemical and morphometrical characteristics of intestinal goblet cells of germfree and conventional mice. Exp Anim 1996; 45: 155-60.
-Ukena SN et al. Probiotic Escherichia Coli Nissle 1917 inhibits leaky gut by enhancing mucosal integrity. Plos One 2007; 2 (12): e1308.
-Gordon HA et al.. Characteristics of the germfree rat. Acta Anatomica 1966; 64: 367-89.
-Gauguet S, et al. Intestinal microbiota of mice influences resistance to Staphylococcus Aureus pneumonia. Infect Immun 2015; 83: 4003-14.
-Tomas J et al. Primo colonization is associated with colonic epithelial maturation during conventionalization. FASEB J 2013; 27: 645-55.


Rôle dans le métabolisme intestinal

Le microbiote intestinal exerce des fonctions métaboliques essentielles à la digestion. Une fraction des aliments n’est pas digérée à la sortie de l’intestin grêle et est fermentée par le microbiote dans le côlon. Du gaz et de nombreux métabolites sont ainsi produits par cette fermentation parmi lesquels les acides gras à chaîne courte qui représentent un véritable « carburant » pour les cellules de votre côlon.

Rôle de défense

  • Effet barrière :
    Votre intestin est confronté à un défi important : tolérer les bactéries du microbiote, bénéfiques, tout en s’opposant efficacement à la colonisation des bactéries dangereuses, dites pathogènes. Le microbiote participe à cette fonction de barrière. Les « bonnes » bactéries du microbiote luttent directement contre les pathogènes par compétition pour les mêmes nutriments. Par ailleurs, certaines libèrent des molécules antimicrobiennes contre les germes pathogènes. Enfin, d’autres stimulent la production de mucus pour protéger les cellules intestinales des agressions et éviter les effets délétères sur votre organisme.
     
  • Stimulation du système immunitaire :
    Les bactéries de la flore intestinale interviennent dans la maturation et l’activation des cellules du système immunitaire intestinal qui vous protège contre les agressions d’agents pathogènes tels que les bactéries ou les virus. En effet, l’intestin représente le premier réservoir de cellules immunitaires de l’organisme. De son côté, le système immunitaire influence le microbiote dans sa composition et sa diversité.

 

Rôle sur la muqueuse intestinale

Le microbiote intestinal exerce une grande influence sur la maturation du tube digestif, en particulier sur la forme et l’épaisseur de la muqueuse intestinale, la production de mucus, l’irrigation des cellules de l’intestin et l’activité enzymatique de la muqueuse.

Les fonctions émergentes

De récentes études ont identifié d’autres rôles pour le microbiote. En effets, certaines bactéries de la flore intestinale pourraient avoir un rôle protecteur et d’autres un rôle inducteur de maladies inflammatoires, métaboliques, voire de troubles comportementaux et neurologiques. Un travail important de recherche est encore nécessaire pour identifier les mécanismes.

Pathologies

Les dérèglements du microbiote intestinal peuvent être à l'origine de perturbations touchant différentes zones du corps humain.

 

Agir sur le microbiote

Il existe 5 façons pour agir sur l'équilibre des microbiotes. Chacune d'elles a ses propres spécificités.